What are Mississippi’s DUI Penalties and Fines—and How to Avoid Them
Do not drink and drive. Do not drink and drive. Do not drink and drive.
But suppose you do, anyway? Here are the penalties if you get a DUI in Mississippi.
Mississippi DUI penalties for the first offense:
- Up to 48 hours in jail
- $250 to $1,000 fine
- 90-day license suspension
- You may also have to complete an alcohol safety program or attend a victim panel.
Mississippi DUI penalties for the second offense?
- 5 days to 1 year in jail
- $600 to $1,500 fine
- 2-year license suspension
Mississippi DUI penalties for the third offense?
- 1 year to 5 years in jail
- $2,000 to $5,000 fine
- 5-year license suspension
- Possible forfeiture of your vehicle
- This offense is also considered a felony
After your first offense, you may also be subject to having an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. This basically turns your car into a breathalyzer. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above the legal limit, your ignition will not start. Drivers under 21 have an illegal blood alcohol content of .02. That number is .04 for commercial drivers and .08 for all other drivers.
Who can help me if I get a DUI?
Learn more about Andrew Sorrentino Legal and DUIs here.